What is Pickleball Nova Scotia (PNS)?

PNS is a non-profit organization made up volunteers who love the sport of pickleball and are dedicated to supporting existing programs and promoting further growth across the province. We firmly believe that pickleball is a game that can be enjoyed by people of all ages and skill levels and we will strive to assist in creating opportunities for both recreational and competitive play.

In 2011, Steve and Patsy Simon introduced Pickleball to Nova Scotia, established the Nova Scotia Pickleball Association (NSPA), and served on the board of directors.  Their hard work combined with the addictive nature of pickleball has resulted in the sport being played in multiple locations across the province (see places to play).

In 2015, Patsy and Steve stepped down from the NSPA, the association was renamed Pickleball Nova Scotia (PNS) and a new board of directors was elected with the intention of promoting the sport across Nova Scotia while developing formal partnerships with established sport, recreation, and health organizations.

Following completion of the provinces first Nova Scotia Provincial Pickleball Championships which drew a record number of players for a pickleball tournament in Atlantic Canada, PNS held their first AGM.  A new paid membership (click to join) was introduced and a special committee of regional representatives was appointed to gather information from their peers and assist in improving the quality of services that PNS offers.


As of October 30, 2016, the PNS Board of Directors expanded to included regional representatives.  President Jared Uhlman, VP Raelene Kucyk, Secretary Dawn Hobson, Treasurer Ed MacDonald, and Membership Chair Ginny Conrad were joined by Regional Reps; Travis Crouse (Halifax), Yves Rossignol (South Shore) and Brian Connick (Central/Northern).

JUNE 2017

In June of 2017, our second AGM was held and some changes were made to our Board of Directors.

The following and available positions were filled:

President                                   Jared Uhlman, re-elected

Membership Chair               Angela Weld

South Shore Rep                    Heather Pentz

Members at Large                 Pat Morrison and Daniel Smith

Marketing Committee         Pat Morrison and Brent Hobson


As of September 2018, the PNS Board of Directors was comprised of:

President                                 Raelene Kucyk

Vice-President                       Vacant

Treasurer                                Ed MacDonald

Secretary                                 Dawn Hobson

Membership Chair               Angela Weld

Directors at Large                Daniel Smith and Pat Morrison

Zone Directors

HRM Zone Directors                              Henny Rykers and Ginny Conrad

South Shore Zone Director                   Wanda Winaut

Fundy Zone Director           Vacant

Annapolis Valley Zone Director           Darrel Youden

Highland Zone Director                      Ian MacDonald


In early 2019 there were a few changes to some board positions.  After Raelene Kucyk stepped down as President, Daniel Smith accepted that role and Pat Morrison filled the vacant Vice President Position.  Other changes were made as well to some of our regional reps and now the board is made up of the following:

President                                   Daniel Smith

Vice-President                        Pat Morrison

Treasurer                                  Marylouise Crespo-Michaud

Secretary                                   Dawn Hobson

Membership Chair                Angela Weld

Zone Directors

HRM Zone Directors                                Henny Rykers and Ginny Conrad

South Shore Zone Director                     Wanda Winaut

Highland Zone Director                          Ian MacDonald

Annapolis Valley Zone Directors            Brent Reid and Charlene Reid

Fundy Zone Director                             Glen Hudson

Members at Large

Betty MacAlpine

JD MacKinnon

JUNE 2020

Following this year’s Annual General Meeting there were a few changes in our board as some positions were up for re-election, a new Technical Director position was created and a few members decided to “retire”….

President                                   Daniel Smith

Vice-President                        Pat Morrison

Treasurer                                  Marylouise Crespo-Michaud

Secretary                                   Theresa MacDonald-Thompson

Membership Chair                Angela Weld

Technical Director                 JD MacKinnon

Zone Directors

HRM Zone Directors                     Henny Rykers

South Shore Zone Director               Becky Nodding

Highland Zone Director                  Ian MacDonald

Annapolis Valley Zone Directors            Brent Reid and Charlene Reid

Fundy Zone Director                            Glen Hudson

Cape Breton Zone Director Mary Anderson

Member at Large                Betty MacAlpine

Member at Large Mike Hinchey

March 2022

After a few of our board members stepped down, here is our updated list of board members

President                             Daniel Smith                                              

Vice-President                    Pat Morrison                                              

Treasurer                             Marylouise Crespo-Michaud                  

Secretary                             Theresa MacDonald-Thompson            

Membership Chair            Angela Weld                                               

Technical Director             Vacant

Zone Directors

Central Region                   JD MacKinnon                                            

South Shore                        Vacant

Highland Region                Ian MacDonald                                          

Annapolis Valley                Brent Reid                                                   

Fundy Region                      Ralph Brine                                                 

Cape Breton Region         Mary Anderson                                          

Member at Large               Rhonda Brassard                                       

Member at Large               Mike Hinchey                                             

October 2022

Following our 2022 Annual General Meeting, a few of our board member’s terms had ended and a few new members joined our board.

Here is our updated list of board members

President                             Pat Morrison                         

Vice-President                Donald Johnston                                                   

Treasurer                             Marylouise Crespo-Michaud                  

Secretary                             Wendy Bensted            

Membership Chair            Mary Ann Daye                                               

Technical Director             Eric Cubilier

Zone Directors

Central Region                   Roger Peters                                            

South Shore                       Wayne Uhlman

Highland Region                Jim Ripoll                                         

Annapolis Valley                Brent Reid                                                   

Fundy Region                      Vacant                                                 

Cape Breton Region         Mary Anderson                                          

Member at Large               Rhonda Brassard                                       

Member at Large               Marita Winaut                   

%d bloggers like this: